Emergencies: Call 911

Non-Emergency & General Inquiries: (902) 563-5151

Serving With You - For You

We serve and protect for safe and healthy communities through leadership, partnerships and engagement and we believe in maintaining law and order through: ethics and professionalism, accountability and transparency, inclusion and diversity, and collaboration and community spirit.

Board of Police Commissioners

As outlined in the Nova Scotia Police Act, every municipality that establishes a municipal police department must have a board of police commissioners.

The function of a board is to provide governance on law enforcement and crime prevention, and policy direction for an effective and efficient police department; but, the board does not have jurisdiction over the day operations of the police service, including investigations and personnel matters, except in relation to the Chief of Police. The board serves as a link between citizens and the police service, helping establish goals, objectives and service delivery that meet the needs and values of the community.

The Board of Police Commissioners is required to hold a meeting at least every three months; meetings are open to the public, but all matters relating to discipline, personnel conduct, contract negotiations and security of police operations may be conducted in private.

The seven member Board consists of three members of council, appointed by resolution of council; three citizens-at-large, appointed by resolution of council; and, one member appointed by the provincial Minister of Justice. A Chair is chosen from among this group of members, and each member must take an Oath of Office and adhere to a code of conduct, as prescribed by regulations of the Act.

The current members of the CBRM Board of Police Commissioners are:

  • Commissioner Eldon MacDonald, Chair (Council Appointee)
  • Commissioner Ken Tracey (Council Appointee)
  • Commissioner Lorne Green (Council Appointee)
  • Commissioner Dale Deering-Bert, Vice Chair (Citizen Appointee)
  • Commissioner Tom Vickers (Citizen Appointee)
  • Commissioner Helen Luedee (Citizen Appointee)
  • Commissioner Noelle Gouthro (Provincial Appointee)